About Us

Our Mission is to:

Fulfill our legal responsibilities and uphold the democratic process.
Strive to improve the quality of life of the people of Newmarket, through the provision of services, activities and events.
To encourage and support community cohesion

Newmarket Town Council is committed to:

Supporting the economic vibrancy of the town as a whole.
Providing a forum for discussion and decision making, and a platform to represent the interests of the people of Newmarket.
Promoting environmentally friendly policies.
The continued professional development of the Councillors and Officers.

Meet the Councillors

Team Icon

Rachel Hood

Mayor of Newmarket
Chair of Human Resources Committee
Ward: Severals
Email: racheldshood1@gmail.com
Telephone: 01638 565456
Mobile: 07713 211555

Team Icon

James Lay

Deputy Mayor of Newmarket
Vice-Chairman of the Development & Planning and Finance & Policy
Ward: St.Marys
Email: jameswlay@hotmail.com
Telephone: 01638 552488

Team Icon

Michael Anderson

Town Councillor
Ward: Studlands Park
Email: shirley8@hotmail.co.uk
Telephone: 01638 601624/612177

Team Icon

Andrew Appleby

Councillor
Ward: Severals
Email: applebysid@aol.com
Telephone: 01638 664291

 

Team Icon

John Berry

Councillor
Ward: Severals
Email: johnwathenberry@yahoo.co.uk
Telephone: 01638 660663

Team Icon

Janet Clarke

Councillor
Ward: St. Marys
Email: janet-clarke@live.com
Telephone: 01638 662041

Team Icon

Andy Drummond

Town Councillor
Chair of Finance & Policy Committee
and Vice-Chairman of Human Resource Committee
Ward: St.Marys
Email: andy@lettergold.co.uk
Mobile: 07710 027343

Team Icon

Warwick Hirst

Councillor
Ward: Severals
Email: hirstjwh45@aol.com
Telephone: 01638 665128

Team Icon

Dave Hudson

Councillor
Vice-Chairman of the Leisure Services Committee
Ward: St. Marys
Email: d.hudson1@ntlworld.com
Telephone: 01638 661272

Team Icon

Peter Hulbert

Councillor
Ward: St. Marys
Email: p.hulbert@ntlworld.com
Telephone: 01638 602885

Team Icon

Mick Jefferys

Councillor
Ward: St. Marys
Email: mjjefferys@yahoo.co.uk
Telephone: 01638 663157

Team Icon

John Morrey

Councillor
Chair of Development & Planning Committee
Ward: All Saints
Email: john.morrey@tattersall.com

Team Icon

Robert Nobbs

Councillor
Chair of Leisure Services Committee
Ward: St. Marys
Email: robert@heathcourthotel.com
Telephone: 01638 676390

Team Icon

Christopher O’Neill

Councillor
Ward: All Saints
Email: crpelcombe@yahoo.com

Team Icon

Amy Starkey

Councillor
Vice-Chairman of Community Services Committee
Ward: All Saints
Email: amy.starkey@thejockeyclub.co.uk
Telephone: 01638 675501

Team Icon

Justin Wadham

Councillor
Ward: Severals
Email: jw@edmondsonhall.com

Team Icon

Philippa Winter

Councillor
Chair of Community Services Committee
Ward: All Saints
Email: p.m.winter@btinternet.com
Telephone: 01638 662670

Team Icon

David Wright

Councillor
Ward: Studlands Park
Email: cllrdavidwright@outlook.com